Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship

The Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship is renewable funding for out-of-state transfer students from qualifying U.S. states. It is available to transfer students who enroll at any time, and it cannot be combined with any other renewable KU scholarship for nonresidents. Incoming freshmen are not eligible to receive the Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship.

Scholarship amount

$11,822 per year

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible, you must live in one of the following states:

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin


Transfer students must also

  • submit a complete admission application (by Feb. 1 if you're starting in the summer or fall semester and Nov. 1 if you're starting in the spring semester)
  • have earned at least a 3.25 transferable GPA
  • have completed 24 transferable college credit hours
  • be transferring from a community college
  • not have earned a bachelor's degree previously

How to apply

There's no separate application for this scholarship — just submit your KU admission application by the deadlines above. Accepted students who meet all the criteria will receive the Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship.

Renewal criteria

To be eligible for renewal, you must complete 30 KU hours and earn a cumulative 3.25 KU GPA.

*All references to SAT scores refer to math and evidence-based reading and writing.

Visit KU

Aerial view of KU campusCome for a visit. Experience KU in person. It's the best way to make your decision.

Explore visiting options

Application Deadlines

August 19, 2019

Deadline to apply for Fall 2019 Semester


January 14, 2020

Deadline to apply for Spring 2020 Semester


Start your application