Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship

The Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship is renewable funding for out-of-state transfer students from qualifying U.S. states. It is available to transfer students who enroll at any time, and it cannot be combined with any other renewable KU scholarship for nonresidents. Incoming freshmen are not eligible to receive the Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship.

Scholarship Amount

$12,411 per year

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible, you must live in one of the following states:

  • Indiana
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin


Transfer students must also

  • submit a complete admission application (May 1 for fall and Dec. 1 for spring)
  • have earned at least a 3.25 transferable GPA
  • have completed 24 transferable college credit hours
  • not have earned a bachelor's degree previously

How To Apply

There's no separate application for this scholarship — just submit your KU admission application by the deadlines above. Accepted students who meet all the criteria will receive the Midwest Student Exchange Scholarship.

Renewal Criteria

To be eligible for renewal, you must maintain a 3.0 KU GPA and be enrolled full-time.